Skip to content

accidental art

March 14, 2011

accidental art

I had a brilliant idea while working on my morning pages today.  I noticed that my desk had a bit of paint on it and I started thinking about my work surface cover.  I usually use an old desk calendar, but today I decided to try putting a blank canvas down on my desk as a drop cloth.  Pretty cool, huh?  Art as a byproduct of making art.  Accidental art.  I think I will photograph this piece every so often so I can see how it progresses over the next year.

I have been working on PLaY today.  I decided that instead of just posting prompts everyday in boring black and white text, I would make an ATC for each prompt!  So far I’ve made 60, but I still have 30 to go.  And the ATCs will be available as printables for all the participants in my workshop.  So, at the end of the workshop, everyone will have their own set of PLaYing cards.  I love this idea!  I also got a webcam this week so I can start a UStream channel.  I want to have weekly brainstorming sessions on the Creative Sparks network.

Oh, and I spent the last bit of money I had saved up from when I was a teacher at 21 Secrets to buy my way in this year’s 21 Secrets.  April is going to be a very busy, artsy month!  I can’t wait!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2011 5:31 pm

    Hi Spooky,
    I LOVE this idea! I’ve been working on something similar for Expressive Art projects – so I can appreciate the skill, time & energy involved. I can’t wait to see your PLaY cards!
    Best wishes from Oz,
    Gypsy

    • April 1, 2011 9:58 am

      Hey, I have you on my list of people who have not gained access to the site yet. Did you get the invite? If not, please go here and sign up. the prompts have already started and I don’t want you to miss out!

Leave a Reply

