Skip to content

Workshop Wednesday

April 13, 2011

Have you ever considered making your own online workshop, but don’t know where to start?  This is the first post in a 10-part series that tells you all about my own workshop-making process.  Hopefully it will inspire you to start you own.

Step One–Brainstorm.

The first thing you need to do if you want to make a workshop is decide what the workshop will be about.  No, the first thing you really need to do is write down tons of ideas that you might like to see in action.  Select the best one and run with it.  In order for you to get your ideas down on paper, you need to be ready for them.  Keep notebooks everywhere.  I have a composition book in my office, another next to my bed, a tiny moleskine in my purse–and I also use my phone to make notes.  Write down ideas as they come to you, no matter how silly they may seem.  Take note of when ideas frequently arrive–right before you fall asleep, in the shower, during your commute.  Have a note-taking device ready.  I also find it extremely helpful to dedicate a specific chunk of time to brainstorm each day.  I use 750words.com every day to brainstorm and that’s where some of my best ideas show up.

melody1c

Step one--notebooks at the ready!

Next week I’ll show you how to pick out your best idea and mold it into an amazing workshop!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 13, 2011 2:37 pm

    oh, i’m so glad you’re doing this! i’ve been interested in doing this for some time, but really have no idea where to begin. i’m looking forward to seeing more!

    thanks, darling ~

Leave a Reply

