Skip to content

April 28, 2011

flood

Hello everyone. I don’t know if you’ve heard about the massive storms that are hitting the heartland, but I wanted to give you an update on my situation. If you didn’t already know, I live in southeastern Missouri. Since last Friday, we have been experiencing some crazy weather! It has rained about 16 inches in five days! Lots of dangerous thunderstorms, flash floods, and even large hail!  Oh, and power outages!  I personally am okay, and the town I live in is not flooding.  However, many of my friends and neighbors in the surrounding areas have had to evacuate due to the flooding.  One of my good friends totaled his car during a torrential storm (thankfully he is okay).  My brother has not been able to go to his job because of the flooding.  Several levees have broken, and it is possible a large dam at Wappallelo Lake will burst as well.  Not good!  I have also heard that in a couple of weeks the Mississippi River will flood worse than it did in 1995!

Here is a video I found to give you an idea of what it’s like around here.  This town is about 30 minutes away from me.  It is a town that is very near and dear to my heart, and I hate to see it like this.  It is where my best friend lives (she is okay) and where my brother works.  I feel I must also apologize for the bad music and punctuation errors–we’re not all hillbillies!  I personally loathe country music.

The weather is clear tonight and tomorrow, but it looks like we are set to get more rain on the weekend.  I will try to keep you updated on the situation.  Please keep my little corner of the world in your thoughts this week.  Also, it looks like Workshop Wednesday is turning into Workshop Thursday again.  Back with that soon.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2011 4:56 pm

    so glad you’re ok. be safe.

    • May 5, 2011 12:01 pm

      Yes, I feel very lucky! Thanks for all your comments lately (that I have not replied to, shame on me). I am sorry to hear about your friend. She sounded like an amazing person. It was really nice of you to put all those encouraging words and places to go for help on your blog.

Leave a comment