Skip to content

The Big Turquoise Journal

May 5, 2011

My big Turquoise Journal is about half-way full now.  Here are the pages I photographed yesterday.

IMG_1742

Remember my first goddess painting I did?  I used the same face photo for this page–I just made another copy of my sketch and slapped it on the page, then added lots of layers.  I had this idea that I wanted to do a girl with torn paper hair, so her hair is made of torn bits of scrapbooking paper.  I love the way it turned out!  ps those are Pearl Jam lyrics on the side.

IMG_1743

Another girl.  I did this page by painting over a magazine image of a face.  It’s a good way to cheat and make great faces.  This page still needs some work, though.  A quote on the side, maybe, and some better shading on her face.  And I might make her smile a bit more.

IMG_1744

Just like it says, I saw this cactus in a Mexican restaurant and had to draw it for some reason.  I just did this fun, messy page in front of the tv one night with watercolors and sharpies.

IMG_1745

I used a magazine cutout for a stencil on this page.  It is one of my favorites lately.  I want to write something in the big empty space, but then again I don’t want to mess it up.  So, I’ve decided to just let it speak for itself.

IMG_1746

This is an Artist’s Way exercise.  Well, two actually.  The page on the left is my goals for the next three years.  And the page on the right is from an exercise where you’re supposed to describe yourself as a color.  I felt pretty cheesy after I wrote that, but oh well.

IMG_1747

A yummy layered page that is also awaiting some written thoughts.   This is the page I made on my birthday with my friends Aleshia and Keenan.

IMG_1749

A page I made on Easter Sunday.

IMG_1750

I made this after watching some Samantha Kira vids on youTube.  I really like her vibrant colors, so I tried to mimic her style in my own way.

IMG_1752

And that’s one of the pages I used spray paint on yesterday.

Hooray, it has been far too long since I’ve posted any of my journal pages.  Now I don’t feel like such a bum!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 10, 2011 4:03 pm

    LOVE the pink stenciled one! the prepared green one is gorgeous too – i love that pop of blue on the left.

Leave a Reply

