Skip to content

No Spark For Art

June 13, 2011

Hello.  I’m not dead.  I am just having a hard time with my art lately.  I know it happens to everyone, but it’s so depressing, isn’t it?  I haven’t painted in about a month.  Well, okay, I have tried a couple of times and ended up with total crap…so that wasn’t very encouraging.  Luckily, I have always been crafty, so I’ve been doing a couple of diy’s to keep my little creative heart from withering away.

First I made solar jars .  Super fun and easy.  Here are some quick phone photos I took of them.

solarjars

solarjars2

When it stops raining, I’ll take better photos of them.

I also just ordered the stuff to make feather hair extensions.  My work has pretty strict policies about our appearances, so I can’t funky hair colors–but it doesn’t say a thing about wearing things in your hair.  Hopefully I can pull it off.

I have also been cooking up a storm lately, experimenting with low fat recipes.  I’ve lost about ten pounds this month.  So far, I’m in third place in my diet competition.  Tomorrow I have another weigh-in, though, so wish me luck.  I also decided that I would like to get my house cleaned out and organized, so I’ve been working on that.  But my art, man…I’ve been trying.  I bought a couple of new books, started a new sketchbook, bought some new supplies, played around in 21 secrets, but I have not been inspired to journal.  I always hear that sometimes you just have to force yourself.  Today is a nice rainy day and I think I’ll sit inside and try to paint in my journal.  Who  knows what will happen.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2011 12:06 pm

    Hi, I wanted to let you know I have about half filled the 30 days of play journal I bought from you … love it! I will need to take pics and show you – it is getting thicker and fuller by the day!

  2. June 13, 2011 3:03 pm

    good luck, darlin’… i’ve been having trouble, too. i wonder if struggling with art has to do with the idea that we have to – for the sake of blogging, or because we tell ourselves that it’s what we like to do, so we must do it – or simply being preoccupied with other tough stuff in our lives. hm. perhaps i’ll do a blog post about it. wishing you creativity and spontaneity!

Leave a Reply

