Skip to content

Dr. Sketchy’s in STL

August 23, 2011

Okay, big long post time.  So, on Sunday Travis and I went to St. Louis for a Dr. Sketchy’s session.  Besides the time we participated at DS at Bonnaroo, this was our first real DS event.  I figured it would be a good compromise for the both of us–I like art and Travis likes pretty ladies.  So, we got there and it was a bit awkward for us because we’re both very quiet and didn’t know anybody there.  There weren’t as many people there as we thought there would be, either.  Around a dozen, and they all knew each other, so we were definitely the odd men out.  But we ended up talking to nearly everyone there before we left and everyone was super nice!  They were all pretty shocked that we’d driven so far to do this, but really there’s just nothing to do for fun where we live.  Anyway, on to the sketches…

Here’s the funny part.  When Travis and I did DS at Bonnaroo, they had lots of models, and they all took turns.  But at STL they only had one model.  And that model was…Bazuka Joe.  Travis was not impressed.  After all, he had been expecting naked ladies, and ended up having to look at a dude.  I thought this was hilarious.  It still makes me laugh!  Anyway, Travis was a real trooper about it and sat and drew Joe with the rest of us.

Dr. Sketchy's STL feat Bazuka Joe
We started out doing a few 2 minute poses. The theme for this session was “Asia Persuasion” so and Bazuka dressed like a “Harajuku Hello Kitty School Boy”. I had originally intended on doing most of my drawings on my ipad, but I ended up doing most of them in my moleskine.

Dr. Sketchy's STL feat Bazuka Joe

Oh, that one on the left is really bad!  It’s because he was in a super goofy pose and was staring directly at me the whole time I was sketching.  I would look up, catch his eye, and giggle.  Yes, I was kind of smitten with Bazuka Joe!

Dr. Sketchy's STL feat Bazuka Joe

Dr. Sketchy's STL feat Bazuka Joe
Next he changed into his Super Hero/Anime Character costume did some five minute poses.

Dr. Sketchy's STL feat Bazuka Joe

Dr. Sketchy's STL feat Bazuka Joe
That one is my favorite, even though it’s really incomplete.

Dr. Sketchy's STL feat Bazuka Joe
And, last but not least, Bazuka Joe in his Hello Kitty codpiece. LoL. Clearly Travis’s favorite moment of the day! This was a 20 minute pose.

Dr. Sketchy's STL feat Bazuka Joe
And the last pose was supposed to be about 45 minutes, but I got a little bored and quit after about 25 and played around on my ipad. I haven’t finished anything on my ipad, though, so I’ll share those when they’re done.

All in all, I had a really great time!  If there is a DS group in you area, I highly recommend checking it out, even if you are shy like me and Travis.

In an unrelated note, remember my weight loss competition?  It’s been 3 months and I’ve lost 21 pounds!  I just got the message saying that I won second place!  Hooray!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 25, 2011 9:42 am

    Cool, I had never heard of Dr. Sketchy before.
    I’ll have to go check it out if anyone opens a branch closer to me.

Leave a Reply

