Skip to content

Sometimes collage is the only language I speak

August 29, 2011

I’m sorry.  I know my blog has been pretty boring this summer.  I have been blogging. but I haven’t really been there, if you know what I mean.  I guess I’m trying to say that my heart has not been in it.  I have been making art all along, but I haven’t gotten excited about it.  I mean, don’t get me wrong, I love my art journal–the big blue one from the video yesterday–I love that thing.  When I look at it, it feels part of my soul has been transferred to paper.  That’s how art should feel, right?  But lately when I’ve been making art I’ve been kind of bored with it.  I sort of feel like me and art journaling, we’re an old married couple.  I like you; I want you around, but we’re stuck in a rut.  I wish I could go back the the “honeymoon” phase with my art journal.  When everything is new and you’re so excited to try everything.  I sort of feel like I’ve done it all with my journal now, which is ridiculous.  Art is infinite.  Even if I tried to do the exact same piece again, it was end up looking different.  Despite all this, I keep on making art.  I keep searching for new things to try.  When that doesn’t work, I go back to old standbys.

IMG

I think collage is magic.

IMG_0001

IMG_0002

I bought a red moleskine with a certain project in mind, but I never followed through with it.  So, this was the book I grabbed when I went to Dr. Sketchy’s last week.  It is slowly turning from a boring sketchbook into a mixed media collage extravaganza!  And for the first time in a while, I’m pretty excited about my art.  I’ve decided to fill the whole thing with sketches and collage.  And I’m not holding anything back anymore.  I have been saving scraps of paper since I was 12.  I think it’s time to use them!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

