Skip to content

One Page at a Time: ALD Weeks 1& 2

September 13, 2011

I spent a lot of time working on my spread for A Lovely Dream this week. Usually I just breeze through my pages and I rarely spend more than 20 minutes on them. But, inspired by Suzi, I just kept working on this page. Remember the photo I showed you last week?

20110913-114453.jpg

I started by sketching a face in my sketchbook. I had just given myself a refresher course by watching some Goddess and Poet videos (another Suzi Blu course I’m enrolled in). When I was fairly satisfied with my drawing, I tore the page out of my sketchbook and added it to my art journal with some Collage Pauge. I knew I wanted to try watercolors, but the paper in my journal is not really made for watercolors. I was curious to see how the watercolors would work over a layer of clear gesso. So, I slapped some clear gesso on and let it dry overnight. The next day, I found that my page had curled a bit, so I secured it with some clips, then went to work with the watercolors.

20110913-115241.jpg

I was pretty happy with the way the face turned out considering I’d never really painted anything recognizable with watercolors before. I added color to the hair, then filled in the background with watercolors. It was interesting to see how the watercolors reacted to the places that weren’t covered in gesso and collage pauge. I considered calling it quits then, but I decided to go ahead and add colored pencil to the face. Wow, that was a great idea. The pencils on top of clear gesso are great! It’s so easy to fix your mistakes. I think this is the best nose I’ve ever drawn because I was able to tweak it so many times.

20110913-121718.jpg

Next, I decided to add another character–a bird. The theme this week was friendship, so I put my own philosophy about friendship and tried to make the bird look like he was carrying the message. That part is a little wonky, but oh well. The last thing I did was integrate the painting together with layers of stencils and stamps. So, here is the finished piece.

20110913-121801.jpg

What do you think? I am pretty happy with it.

Guess what. Today is the first day of my vacation! I am going on a road trip, but I’ll tell you more about that later.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 13, 2011 10:15 pm

    thats beautiful! i love turquoise hair, and her eyes just glow 🙂 and its a cute birdie!

Leave a Reply

