Skip to content

On A Stay-cation

October 25, 2011

20111025-170820.jpg

Hello. I am on a “use it or lose it” week of vacation. No plans, just a bit of hanging around the house. You know, when I started this blog I wanted it to be about art journaling for beginners because I was a beginner. Now, I feel like I’ve moved past that point, so I just don’t know what to write about anymore. In fact, this is the third time I’ve attempted to write this post. I think something needs to change, but I’m not sure what it is yet. Well, next month is November: NaNoJoMo/AEDM, and I’m going to participate in that. I will try, try, try to blog everyday, even if it’s just a quick photo.
Since I’m not going anywhere this week, I am going to start building my next workshop. I am not sure what I want to do, though. A few ideas:

DIY Fortune Telling Cards?
A photography course with ideas of how to add your photos to your art journal?
Or maybe just a regular art journaling class?

Leave a comment below and let me know what you’d like to see. I’m kind of leaning toward the card class because I’ve been making cards every morning before work. I can’t wait until I have enough to do a reading!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 25, 2011 7:49 pm

    I would love any or all of your ideas for a class! The fortune telling cards sound fabulous. I’m into tarot and all that jazz, so that’d be really fun to combine it with mixed media. On the other hand, I’m working on using 100% of my own images and drawings, painting work in my art journals (just bought two new ink cartridges today), although it’s harder to let go of the ease of using magazine text and clippings, but I think my art and style will grow more and benefit from this. I use an iPhone and iPad for all of my photography right now (my point-and-shoot) has been gathering dust in my closet (!) for years. I couldn’t have imagined saying that before my first iPhone. I love experimenting with photo filters and apps like Instagram, Camera+ and Hipstamatic, as well as the default camera. So, a workshop about using one’s own photography would be fab!

    I’m open to other kinds of AJ workshops, too. I had enrolled in Natalie Malik’s In The Sun course, but was so intimidated and stuck on where to start and what journal to use and trying to “fit in” with the provided prompts, that I didn’t get anything accomplished. So, I would love a very loose, yet informative (?) workshop (even though it’s obviously me that has the hang up LOL)…but I’m sure that whatever you come up with will be wonderful anyway…:)

Leave a Reply

