Skip to content

AEDM Day One: Cork Printing

November 1, 2011

20111101-154057.jpg

Today is the first day of Art Every Day Month! I am going to post a little something that I’ve worked on each day this month. Even if it’s just a little snapshot. I am still on vacation today, so I have plenty of time to play around in my journal. I had a couple of ideas when I started today. I wanted to use Halloween colors and I wanted to try stamping with a found object: a cork. Here is a little step by step of my page.

20111101-154643.jpg

I started with a semi-blank page. At some point, I had smeared left over purple paint on this page just to use it up.

20111101-154846.jpg

Next comes the gesso! It’s not totally necessary with this journal, but I like to start with gesso because it’s an easy way to get your bush moving. And once your brush is moving you don’t want to stop!

20111101-155136.jpg

Book lovers, avert your eyes! This is a page from a typing manual from 1921! I love to read, but I’m not afraid to tear up an old book.

20111101-155521.jpg

And here’s where things start to get ugly! I scraped some paint around with a plastic card. It looked terrible when I was done. How do we fix ugly pages?

20111101-155751.jpg

More paint! More gesso! It’s still pretty ugly, though. I put one more layer of orange paint.

20111101-155903.jpg

At this point, I was tired of trying to get it to look pretty. I decided to move on to trying out that cork.

20111101-160030.jpg

The end result. Rather than take this page any further, I’ve decided to end it here. The most important thing about an art journal is that it is a place to experiment. Yes, I am disappointed that I do not have a fabulous piece of art to show you today, but I did enjoy making it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

