Skip to content

AEDM Day 7: Sparkly

November 7, 2011

I love Stumble Upon. I can push that button for hours. It is both the cure and the cause for insomnia for me. Last night I was Stumbling and I found a tutorial on how to make plain flats all glittery. So, I decided to make that my project for today. I know it’s not technically art, but it’s at least creative!

20111107-212250.jpg

Supplies: Mod Podge type glue (I used Collage Pauge), glitter, masking tape, a foam brush, and a pair of flats (any color).

20111107-212542.jpg

Here are the shoes I used. Nine dollars at Wal-Mart. I wear flats a lot, but I always make sure to find interesting looking ones. These are too plain for me, but they won’t be when I’m done.

20111107-212826.jpg

I used the tape to mask the heels and to secure the bow out of the way.

20111107-212946.jpg

The tutorial said to mix the glitter and glue together then paint it on, layer after layer. I tried that, but it seemed too slow. So, for the second coat, I spread a thick layer of glue on, then sprinkled the glitter on, then added another layer of glue.

20111107-213136.jpg

The shoes will look all funky, but the glue dries clear. Mine are still drying, so I guess the big unveil will have to be tomorrow. I can’t wait!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

