Skip to content

Um, hi…

August 31, 2012

Image

Hi…so I haven’t talked to you in a while.  There is good news and bad news.  The good news is that I’m not dead or deathly ill or anything.  The bad is that this blog is most likely kaput.  I feel like I have never properly apologized for my very sudden departure from the art journaling world.  I do still make art occasionally, but, as I have mentioned before, the depth of my creativity has been swept away with writing this book.

I think about writing constantly.  That journal page up there?  It’s about my book.  If I’m not writing, I’m wishing I were writing, or painting about writing, or sleeping.  That’s about it.  I do carry a little guilt for not blogging here, but I have always found it best to stick to the types of creativity that bring me the most pleasure.  When I wrote in this blog, I did so because I enjoyed it.  Now that it seems like a chore, I don’t think it’s worth it for me or my readers.  At some point, I may start a new blog that will either be all purpose or specifically about my experiences writing, but I don’t see myself posting on here much anymore.  And, of course, these archives aren’t going anywhere.

I feel like I’m making pretty good progress with this book.  I’ve been writing for about nine months and I have completed a first draft and I’m now hacking my way through the second.  I have almost completed the first third of the book, which is about seven chapters.  Back in March I enrolled in a ten week writing workshop taught by my favorite author in the world, Francesca Lia Block.  It was amazing!  Not only did my favorite author read my work and give me lots of feedback, I made friends with a tribe of totally awesome girls.  Francesca hosts these workshops every few months and if you need help with a manuscript, I highly recommend her.  Friend her on Facebook so you can catch her next class.

I also wanted to tell you that I’m addicted to Pinterest.  It’s a great tool for writers.  Want a peek into the world I’m writing about?  http://pinterest.com/birdandvine/bird-and-vine/ (Yes, it has literally been so long since I’ve blogged that I can’t figure out how to hide links anymore, sorry).  Check out my other boards, too (though most are book-related), and feel free to follow me.

Thanks to everyone who’s read and enjoyed my blog!  If I start a new one, I’ll let you know!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

